ENHYPEN’s Dark Moon special album
Courtesy to Hybe and Belift Lab

On May 13, 2024, K-Pop boy group, ENHYPEN released a special album titled “Memorabilia” that goes hand in hand with their Webcomic, Dark Moon: The Blood Altar.

Dark Moon: The Blood Altar is about a group of 7 vampire students, characterized by ENHYPEN, who come across Sooha, a new transfer student with a mysterious past. 

 This album consists of 6 tracks, “One In A Billion,” “CRIMINAL LOVE,” “Fatal Trouble,” “Teeth,” “Lucifer,” and “Scream.”

The first 2 tracks on this special album, “One In A Billion” and “CRIMINAL LOVE,” have previously been released as digital singles for ENHYPEN’s webcomic and were a big hit amongst fans.

Story continues below advertisement

“Fatal Trouble” has a ballad-like start to the song and that’s what really made me fall in love with it. The song is about confusion and uncertainty in a relationship. Throughout the song we find lyrics like, “It’s getting blurry,” “I don’t know you,” and “I don’t know what to do.” The translated lyrics mention their memory slowly fading, and this is what the “fatal trouble” is. They’re seeking reassurance and clarity despite feeling like they’re losing the person they love. 

“Teeth” is a hyperpop song sung by Heeseung, Jungwon, Sunoo, and Ni-ki. It is by far the most vampire-like song on the album. I say this because the track has lyrics like “Sink my teeth into ya,” “you make me so thirsty,” and “feel the bite between my jaw, so tasty,” that clearly fit into their concept. What surprised me about this song was the post-chorus. The entire song including the instrumental and the singing suddenly slows down. The effect was really cool and kind of creepy. 

“Lucifer” is sung by Jay, Jake and Sunghoon, also known as the 2002 unit of ENHYPEN. In the teaser, this line: “I don’t care what kind of being you are, It’s important that we value each other” (translated from Korean) went viral for its sensational vibe, exciting many fans for the upcoming album drop. I was a little disappointed when this part was played only once since it was the most popular teaser amongst all the tracks. I also really enjoyed the bridge. The amount of emotion Sunghoon and Jay put into it had this song on repeat, not to mention Jay’s incredible vocals. 

Lastly, we have “Scream.” “Scream” is a much more upbeat song compared to the rest of the tracks. I think what gives this song its liveliness is the guitar intro and its continuation throughout the song. It reminds me of “Tamed-Dashed” off their album “Dimension: Dilemma.” Both tracks have a summery, outgoing, careless vibe to them. 

“Memorabilia” is definitely a breath of fresh air from ENHYPEN’s usual hip-hop, EDM, and pop style music. This new album incorporates styles like hyperpop, R&B and a never before seen sensational vibe. They’re really starting to branch out in these newer albums. I can’t wait to see what they have in store for their July comeback! I give “Memorabilia” a 4/5.

Leave a Comment
More to Discover

Comments (0)

All The Cargo Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *